

P.O Box 12276 Austin. Texas 78711-2276 512-463-6100 thc texas.gov



June 10, 2021

The Honorable Rick Lewis Montague County Judge's Office PO Box 475 Montague, TX 76251

Dear Judge Lewis,

We are pleased to announce that the Montague County Historical Commission (CHC) has earned a Distinguished Service Award (DSA) for the 2020 year of service. While all CHC efforts are valued, **DSAs acknowledge above average CHC performance** based on a statewide analysis of CHC annual report documentation. Our agency received 175 CHC reports for 2020 and approved 84 awards, quite an accomplishment given that the current pandemic limited public programming for all CHCs.

To honor appointees' contributions, we ask that you acknowledge the award publicly as soon as possible. Typically, we recommend presenting the enclosed DSA certificate to CHC appointees during a formal meeting of the commissioners court. If an in-person ceremony is not feasible, please consider implementing other ideas listed on the enclosed flyer to recognize your CHC's outstanding service to the county.

Enclosed is a press release so that your office can promote the DSA award and the CHC's accomplishments. An electronic copy of this press release is posted here: www.thc.texas.gov/information-2020-dsa-winning-chcs. We suggest gathering specifics related to the CHC's efforts and including that information in the press release prior to distributing a copy to media outlets. Promoting the CHC's award locally demonstrates your pride in the appointees' hard work and explains their civic contribution. This publicity will draw attention to the positive aspects of county government.

THC Commissioners and staff congratulate you and your CHC on this well-deserved honor. Thank you for supporting appointees and their efforts to preserve county history!

Sincerely,

Amy Hammons, CHC Outreach Coordinator

commy line

cc: Montague CHC Chair



2020 Distinguished Service Awards

Recognition of County Historical Commission Performance

Each year, the Texas Historical Commission administers the Distinguished Service Award (DSA) process to recognize County Historical Commissions (CHC) that demonstrate exceptional service to preserve Texas' rich and unique heritage. The following CHCs garnered a DSA for the 2020 year of service.

Aransas	Deaf Smith	Jeff Davis	Medina	Sabine
Atascosa	DeWitt	Jefferson	Menard	San Saba
Austin	Dickens	Jim Hogg	Milam	Scurry
Bandera	Duval	Kaufman	Mills	Tarrant
Bell	El Paso	Kendall	Montague	Tom Green
Bexar	Fannin	Kerr	Montgomery	Travis
Brazos	Fayette	Kimble	Motley	Tyler
Brown	Fort Bend	Lamar	Nacogdoches	Upshur
Burleson	Franklin	Lampasas	Navarro	Van Zandt
Burnet	Garza	Lavaca	Newton	Victoria
Caldwell	Harris	Liberty	Nueces	Walker
Cameron	Harrison	Limestone	Palo Pinto	Waller
Carson	Hays	Live Oak	Pecos	Wheeler
Chambers	Henderson	Lubbock	Polk	Williamson
Cherokee	Houston	Mason	Randall	Wise
Collin	Irion	Matagorda	Runnels	Wood
Comal	Jasper	McCulloch	Rusk	

CONGRATULATIONS to the appointees and volunteers who contributed time and effort during this very challenging year! An award packet will be mailed to the county judge of each of the CHCs listed above. A copy of the contents of this packet—including the DSA certificate and suggestions for promoting this award—are provided here: www.thc.texas.gov/information-2020-dsa-winning-chcs. We have asked that the DSA award be presented locally to honor the CHC's accomplishments and provide public recognition to all appointees.

TEXAS HISTORICAL COMMISSION

PRESENTS THIS

DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD 2020

MONTAGUE COUNTY HISTORICAL COMMISSION

IN RECOGNITION OF ITS ACTIVE AND WELL-BALANCED PRESERVATION PROGRAM

man Wolf

June 10, 2021

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR



